Photo by Jeff Davis – Evening in Africa

Explore La Crosse Scholarship

The La Crosse County Convention and Visitors Bureau (DBA Explore La Crosse) is proud to announce starting in 2019, they will be offering an annual scholarship of up to $2,000.00. The objective of this scholarship is to introduce professionals in the tourism industry to the Association of Great Lakes Outdoor Writers by providing funding necessary so an individual may attend an AGLOW Annual Conference, with little or no out-of-pocket expenses. We hope by attending the conference individuals in the tourism industry understand the importance and economic impact outdoor recreation has on any given community or region. The applicant must be employed on a full-time basis, and have been so for at least one year, with his/her current employer (e.g., a convention and visitors bureau/destination marketing organization located in the great lakes region of the United States). They may not have received an Explore La Crosse scholarship within the past three years.

Jeremiah Burish
La Crosse County CVB

Toyota “Let’s Go Places” Scholarship

This scholarship was established through the generosity of Toyota Motor Sales USA in 2015. The goal of the Toyota “Let’s Go Places” Scholarship Program is to recruit individuals into the Association of Great Lakes Outdoor Writers by providing all of the resources necessary so that an individual can attend an AGLOW Annual Conference, Media Camp or Cast & Blast event without any out-of-pocket expenses. Our goal is to bring those actively working in outdoor media or students pursuing a career in outdoor communications, into the network and show them the benefits of belonging to an outdoor communicator’s organization.

Each scholarship recipient will be paired with a mentor from the committee to help them navigate the Annual Conference, Media Camp or Cast & Blast event.

Committee Chair: Timothy Lesmeister

AGLOW High School Grant

This Grant was established in 2013 and is presented to a high school team or club that exhibits an effort to promote an outdoor sport within the high school while providing public service with their community. This is our way of recognizing a high school team or club who best promotes the fun, safety and conservation aspects of our traditional outdoor sports. Nominations due by June 30 each year.

Committee Chair: Nick Green


Join the AGLOW Team and Become a Member Today!
Find out why you should join The Association of Great Lakes Outdoor Writers family.